How Much Time Do You Have For Your Case?
Say you have just learned you may have a case, and are now unsure as to what to do next. First and foremost, you must establish if your possible case happened within the “allowed” time period, known as the statute of limitations. Many of my clients have had a case at one time or another, but do not act in time. Unfortunately, a statute of limitations is part of our legal system. This leaves many people helpless, with nothing I can do for them, because the time to pursue these claims has run out. Every state has different laws and limitations, making it hard to know if your time is up.
Here are the Statutes of Limitations for the state of Ohio.
Statutes Of Limitations for Legal Claims
Car Accident– 2 year statutory Limit
Medical Malpractice– 1 Year from
a.) Date of Incident (when you had your surgery for example) or
b.) Date Made Aware
Minors w/ Birth Injury– 1 year statute from the 18th birthday to file in court by 19th birthday
Minor Car Accident– 2 year statute from the 18th birthday to file in court by the 20th birthday
Personal Injury– (slip & fall, dog bites) 2 year statutory limit
Wrongful Death– 2 year statutory limit
There may be other aspects not mentioned above, that can impact your case. This doesn’t mean you should not consult a legal professional. Many people call my office day to day, needing help and guidance to decide whether or not to pursue a case they may have. If you or a loved one may have a possible case you would like to pursue, call me! I’ll answer any questions you may have, and I’ll Make Them Pay!®
Author: Tim Misny | For over 33 years, personal injury lawyer Tim Misny has represented the injured victim in birth injury, medical malpractice, and catastrophic injury/wrongful death cases, serving “Cleveland, Akron/Canton, Columbus & Cincinnati, Ohio.” You can reach Tim by email at firstname.lastname@example.org or call at 877.944.4373.